Analysis of fast eye movements in Virtual Reality
...

eyeTrax - The system

The eyeTrax system was developed for the examination and analysis of oculomotor function (eye movements and pupil function). Using high-performance eye tracking cameras - integrated into virtual reality glasses - the eye movements are precisely detected and evaluated with the help of the eyeTrax* software. The results document possible deficits of the oculomotor functions, which are also of great importance in professional sports.

The oculomotor function is tested using a 3D simulation that triggers visual stimuli in a targeted and reproducible manner. The high-performance eye tracking cameras detect eye movements and pupil reactions when tracking and searching for moving objects and light stimuli by detecting and tracking the pupil in the video image using computer vision algorithms. In contrast to screen-based systems, 3D simulation also measures accommodation performance (convergence and divergence).

eyeTrax combines a series of advanced algorithms and evaluates the results for both eyes separately. Different measurements can be compared intraindividually. The reproducible and objectifiable data allow conclusions to be drawn about the cognitive function of the brain.

Research - Studies on mild traumatic brain injuries

At present, there is no objective examination method to confirm the diagnosis for a concussion (mild craniocerebral trauma). It is based on the patient's subjective and motivational statements and on the physician's assessment after asking for symptoms: nausea, vomiting, dizziness or headache. Nevertheless, these are only indirect and not always indications of brain damage.

eyeTrax enables a functional analysis of various functions of the eye. With the help of eye-tracking and virtual reality technology.

In cooperation with clinically active scientists and sports physicians, neuro-ophthalmological parameters are recorded and help the user to gather comprehensive information about possible limitations.

The specificity of these parameters is also of great importance for the optimal control of a healing process and thus for the decision on professional reintegration

Sports - Use in sport

Even before the injury of national soccer player Christoph Kramer in the final of the 2014 World Cup, mild traumatic brain injuries (mTBI) have also been the focus of sports medical discussion in popular and top-class sport. In professional sports, game situations are only perceived within seconds if the oculomotor system is intact. A mild traumatic brain injury can lead to deficits in the oculomotor functions, which reduces the ability to react and influence spatial perception. These skills play an important role in assessing game situations and in duel behaviour, among other things. Possible deficits also significantly increase the risk of musculoskeletal injuries.

A reliable and objective assessment of these cognitive abilities immediately after a head injury is therefore of great importance - for the health of the athletes and for deciding whether the player can continue to perform at full capacity or should be replaced strategically. Up to now, the team physicians have made subjective decisions based on experience. Especially light craniocerebral traumas are often not recognized or minimized and therefore not optimally treated. Those affected may be reintegrated into the training and competition process (return-to-play) too quickly (or unnecessarily late).

Digital Health Award - eyeTrax has won the 2nd place in the Novartis Digital Health Award

eyeTrax has won the 2nd place in the Novartis Digital Health Award, endowed with EUR 15,000. The whole eyeTrax team would like to thank Novartis Pharma and Sandoz Deutschland/Hexal for a great evening in Berlin and this high award!

eyeTrax Team

The eyeTrax team consists of an interdisciplinary team of experienced specialists.

Björn Fuhrmann

Managing Director and founder of eyeTrax. Gathered his digital experience in projects and management functions at E-Plus, Arcor, Vodafone, PSI AG, BASE, Atos and many other companies.

Sebastian Weidner

Managing Director and founder of eyeTrax. Gained extensive experience in project organization - among others in the organizing committee of the FIFA World Cup 2006, at Borussia Dortmund as well as at Red Bull Mediahouse.

Olaf Gerlach

Founder of eyeTrax. Conceived and developed big data analysis systems for Arcor, Vodafone, PSI AG and Deutsche Bahn and led various international research collaborative projects focusing on distributed mobile systems.

Dr. Matthias Temmen

Founder of eyeTrax. He holds a doctorate in physics and has many years of international research experience in the field of three-dimensional spectroscopy and microscopy. He leads the software and hardware development of eyeTrax and designs the algorithms for data evaluation and recording.

Christopher Gundler

Maintains the artificial intelligence behind eyeTrax assistance systems. As a cognitive scientist and data scientist, he is researching the use of deep neural networks for a machine-supported interpretation of data.

Media - Reporting about eyeTrax

*eyeTrax is based on scientific knowledge and is scientifically controlled. However, eyeTrax is not a medical service, nor does it make a medical diagnosis. eyeTrax is a tool for oculomotor performance measurement, which is intended to support interested doctors, therapists, nurses, athletes, opticians, optometrists, neuropsychologists and many other scientists.

Contact Us

Analyse schneller Augenbewegungen in Virtual Reality
...

eyeTrax - Das System

Für die Untersuchung und Analyse der Okulomotorik (Augenbewegungen und der Pupillenfunktion) wurde das System eyeTrax* entwickelt. Mittels Hochleistungs-Eye-Tracking-Kameras – integriert in eine Virtual-Reality-Brille – werden die Augenbewegungen präzise erkannt und mithilfe der eyeTrax-Software vielfältig ausgewertet. Die Ergebnisse dokumentieren mögliche Defizite der okulomotorischen Funktionen, welche auch im Profi-Sport von großer Bedeutung sind.

Die Okulomotorik wird anhand einer 3D-Simulation, die visuelle Reize gezielt und reproduzierbar auslöst, getestet. Die Hochleistungs-Eye-Tracking-Kamers erfassen die Augenbewegungen und die Pupillenreaktionen beim Verfolgen und Suchen von bewegten Objekten sowie Lichtreizen, indem durch Computer-Vision-Algorithmen die Pupille im Videobild erkannt und verfolgt wird. Die 3D-Simulation misst, im Gegensatz zu bildschirmbasierten Systemen, zudem die Akkomodationsleistung (Konvergenz und Divergenz).

eyeTrax kombiniert eine Reihe von hochentwickelten Algorithmen und wertet die Ergebnisse für beide Augen separat aus. Unterschiedliche Messungen können intraindividuell verglichen werden. Durch die reproduzierbaren und objektivierbaren Daten sind Rückschlüsse auf die kognitive Funktion des Gehirns möglich.

Forschung - Studien zu leichten Schädel-Hirn-Traumen

Derzeit existiert für eine Gehirnerschütterung (leichtes Schädel-Hirn-Trauma) keine objektive Untersuchungsmethode zur Sicherung dieser Diagnose. Sie stützt sich auf die subjektiven und motivationsabhängigen Angaben des Patienten sowie auf die Einschätzung des Arztes nach der Abfrage von Symptomen: Übelkeit, Erbrechen, Schwindel oder Kopfschmerz. Dennoch sind diese allerdings nur indirekt und nicht immer auftretende Hinweise auf eine Schädigung des Gehirns.

eyeTrax ermöglicht eine Funktionsanalyse von diversen Funktionen des Auges. Mit Hilfe der Eye-Tracking- und Virtual-Reality-Technik.

In Kooperation mit klinisch tätigen Wissenschaftlern und Sportärzten werden neuro-ophthalmologische Parameter erfasst und dienen dem Anwender umfangreiche Informationen über mögliche Einschränkungen zu sammeln.

Die Spezifität dieser Parameter ist auch für die optimale Steuerung eines Heilverfahrens und damit für die Entscheidung über eine berufliche Wiedereingliederung von großer Bedeutung

Sport - Einsatz im Sport

Nicht erst seit der Verletzung von Fußball-Nationalspieler Christoph Kramer im Finale der Weltmeisterschaft 2014 stehen Schädel-Hirn-Traumen (mTBI) auch im Breiten- und Spitzensport im Fokus der sportmedizinischen Diskussion. Im Profi-Sport werden Spielsituationen nur bei einer intakten Okulomotorik in Sekundenschnelle erfasst. Ein leichtes Schädel-Hirn-Trauma kann zu Defiziten der okulomotorischen Funktionen führen, die die Reaktionsfähigkeit mindern sowie die räumliche Wahrnehmung beeinflussen. Diese Fähigkeiten spielen u. a. beim Einschätzen von Spielsituationen und beim Zweikampfverhalten eine große Rolle. Mögliche Defizite erhöhen ebenso signifikant das Risiko für muskuloskelettale Verletzungen.

Eine belastbare und objektive Beurteilung dieser kognitiven Fähigkeiten unmittelbar nach einer Kopfverletzung ist somit von großer Bedeutung – für die Gesundheit der Sportler und für die Entscheidung, ob der Spieler weiterhin volle Leistung erbringen kann, oder spielstrategisch ausgewechselt werden sollte. Bisher entscheiden dies die Mannschaftsärzte subjektiv und nach Erfahrungswerten. Vor allem leichte Schädel-Hirn-Traumen werden oftmals nicht erkannt bzw. verharmlost und dementsprechend nicht optimal therapiert. Die Betroffenen werden ggf. zu schnell (oder unnötig spät) wieder in den Trainings- und Wettkampfprozess (Return-To-Play) integriert.

Digitaler Gesundheitspreis - eyeTrax gewinnt den 2. Platz beim Digitalen Gesundheitspreis von Novartis.

eyeTrax hat den mit 15.000 EUR dotierten 2. Platz beim Digitalen Gesundheitspreis von Novartis gewonnen. Das ganze eyeTrax Team bedankt sich bei Novartis Pharma und Sandoz Deutschland/Hexal für einen tollen Abend in Berlin und diese hohe Auszeichnung!

eyeTrax Team

Das eyeTrax Team besteht aus einem interdisziplinäres Team von erfahrenen Spezialisten

Björn Fuhrmann

Geschäftsführer und Gründer von eyeTrax. Sammelte seine digitalen Erfahrungen in Projekten und Führungsfunktionen bei E-Plus, Arcor, Vodafone, PSI AG, BASE, Atos und vielen weiteren Unternehmen.

Sebastian Weidner

Geschäftsführer und Gründer von eyeTrax. Erlangte umfangreiche Erfahrungen in der Projektorganisation - u.a. im Organisationskomitee der FIFA Fußball–Weltmeisterschaft 2006, bei Borussia Dortmund sowie im Red Bull Mediahouse.

Olaf Gerlach

Gründer von eyeTrax. Konzeptionierte und entwickelte Big Data Analyse Systeme für Arcor, Vodafone, PSI AG sowie die Deutsche Bahn und leitete diverse internationale Forschungsverbundprojekte mit dem Schwerpunkt verteilter mobiler Systeme.

Dr. Matthias Temmen

Gründer von eyeTrax. Ist promovierter Physiker und hat langjährige, internationale Forschungserfahrung im Bereich der dreidimensionalen Spektro- und Mikroskopie. Er leitet die soft- und hardwareseitige Entwicklung von eyeTrax und entwirft die Algorithmen zur Datenauswertung und -aufzeichnung.

Christopher Gundler

Betreut die künstliche Intelligenz hinter den Assistenzsystemen von eyeTrax. Als Kognitionswissenschaftler und Data Scientiest forscht er an der Nutzung tiefer neuronaler Netzwerke für eine maschinengestützte Interpretation der Daten.

Medien - Berichterstattung über eyeTrax

Forschung - Machine Learning Tool zur robusten Entwicklung von Biomarkern und Muster für die Analyse leichter Schädel-Hirn-Traumen.

Dieses Projekt wird mit Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung gefördert.

*eyeTrax ist auf Grundlage wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse entstanden und wird wissenschaftlich kontrolliert. Trotzdem handelt es sich bei eyeTrax nicht um einen medizinischen Dienst, noch wird durch eyeTrax eine medizinische Diagnose gestellt. eyeTrax ist ein Werkzeug zur okulomotorischen Leistungserfassung, welches interessierte Ärzte, Therapeuten, Pflegende, Sportler, Optiker, Ophthalmologisten, Orthoptisten, Neuropsychologen sowie andere Wissenschaftler unterstützen soll.

Contact Us